SPA SIZE ISSUE

IMS DB database, DL/I commands etc

Moderator: Moderator Group

Post Reply
sivasaras
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:07 pm

SPA SIZE ISSUE

Post by sivasaras » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:56 pm

Hi,

Problem:

In the online Screen for a Account Number it will display around 40 list of fields like FN,LN,MN,ADD,PH,MOB etc...

If we give this Acc358768543 in the screen it will display like

LN KUMAR
MN SUNDAR
FN SHYAM

now the issue is while pressing PF8 key to view the next screen
it is displaying like in the first screen 13 ,

second screen fields after 13 and

while pressing 3rd time PF8 it is displaying the first 13 fields again instead of displaying fields after 26.

The account number has totally 44 fields.

i have changed the SPA occurs to 50 times.

i have given the code changes below for the program.

IF SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT = 1
COMPUTE REST-OF-LINES1 = SPA-FEATURE-COUNT - 13
COMPUTE REST-OF-LINES = REST-OF-LINES1 + 14
END-IF
IF SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT = 2
COMPUTE REST-OF-LINES1 = SPA-FEATURE-COUNT - 26
COMPUTE REST-OF-LINES = REST-OF-LINES1 + 27
END-IF
IF SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT = 3
COMPUTE REST-OF-LINES1 = SPA-FEATURE-COUNT - 39
COMPUTE REST-OF-LINES = REST-OF-LINES1 + 40
END-IF


IF SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT = 1
PERFORM 37500-MOVE-SPA-TO-IO-AREA
VARYING SUB1 FROM 14 BY 1
UNTIL SUB1 >= REST-OF-LINES
OR SUB1 > 29
OR SUB1 > 26
END-IF

IF SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT = 2
PERFORM 37500-MOVE-SPA-TO-IO-AREA
VARYING SUB1 FROM 27 BY 1
UNTIL SUB1 >= REST-OF-LINES
OR SUB1 > 30
MOVE ZERO TO SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT

IF SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT = 3
PERFORM 37500-MOVE-SPA-TO-IO-AREA
VARYING SUB1 FROM 40 BY 1
UNTIL SUB1 >= REST-OF-LINES
OR SUB1 > 34
MOVE ZERO TO SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT


Please guide me to solve the issue.



Thanks
Siva

User avatar
dbzTHEdinosauer
Moderator
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:31 pm

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:45 pm

i have no idea what a SPA is.
i assume it is some kind of save area to hold data in between transactions invocation.

explain what is a SPA for this dumb poster.
how are you populating the SPA
what is displayed on a screen (how many lines?)
what comprises a line from the SPA item?
i assume that each account can have enough data for three pages of display....is that correct.
what do you do if someone PF7?

your code is garbage by the way. don't know if it is typos or just your code.

don't show code, explain your requirement.
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

Anuj Dhawan
Moderator
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:02 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:29 pm

SPA is Scratch Pad Area, this is area from where user get/put data while working with IMS DC.

I'm not sure what's the problem here, however, if one is using SPA , first GU should be for SPA, & first ISRT should be for SPA, the next GU/ISRT should be for actual segment.
Regards,
Anuj

User avatar
dbzTHEdinosauer
Moderator
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:31 pm

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:41 pm

thx Anuj,

it seemed as if he was using it like a dfhcommarea.

whatever, he is making it far to complicated.
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

Anuj Dhawan
Moderator
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:02 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:33 pm

No problem Big B. However, to be honest I just did not understand what he is asking!
Regards,
Anuj

User avatar
dbzTHEdinosauer
Moderator
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:31 pm

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:10 pm

TS has not bothered to return for two days,
i will lock this thread tomorrow.
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

sivasaras
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Post by sivasaras » Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:39 pm

Hi,

Sorry for the late reply.

My problem is while pressing PF8 third time it is displaying the first 13 components again instead of displaying the last components.

Pleae guide me

Thanks
Siva

User avatar
dbzTHEdinosauer
Moderator
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:31 pm

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:09 pm

IF SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT = 2
PERFORM 37500-MOVE-SPA-TO-IO-AREA
VARYING SUB1 FROM 27 BY 1
UNTIL SUB1 >= REST-OF-LINES
OR SUB1 > 30
MOVE ZERO TO SPA-PF8-PRESS-COUNT<<<<<<<<<maybe this line?
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

sivasaras
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Post by sivasaras » Fri Mar 09, 2012 8:43 pm

My problem is solved.

I have given Endif after the each press count and it is working fine.

Thanks
Siva

sivasaras
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Post by sivasaras » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:47 pm

Hi,

If the fields are more than 42 then it is showing Error in the screen.

only upto 42 fields it is accepting.

please guide me

Thanks
Siva

NicC
Active Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: Down on the pig farm

Post by NicC » Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:28 pm

This is the firt time that you have mentioned an error being displayed. Also you have said the problem was resolved. If your problem was resolved then this is a new problem and should be in a new topic. And, from what you have said no one can help you. An error. WHAT error? An IMS error? A program error? A something else error?
Regards
Nic

sivasaras
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Post by sivasaras » Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:22 pm

Hi,

I am getting IMs error in the online screen while pressing PF8.

when the account number exceeds 41 components it is showing the eror.

Thanks
Siva

sivasaras
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:07 pm

Post by sivasaras » Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:26 pm

this is the error code for the abend


***************************************************************************

DFS555I TRAN tttttttt ABEND (SYSID sss); MSG

IN PROCESS: xxxx (up to 78 bytes of data) time- stamp

Explanation: An application program abend occurred during the processing of
transaction tttttttt (in system sss in a multi- system environment). The
variable xxxx is replaced by up to 78 characters of the input transaction
being processed. A time stamp follows the input transaction data.

If the input transaction is missing, the following message appears: QMGR RC
NE 0, MSG. NOT AVAIL.

System Action: The input transaction identified by this message is deleted
from the system unless this message is preceded by the SUCCEEDED version of
message DFS550I.

Programmer Response: Correct the cause of the application program abend.

Terminal Operator Response: If this multi- segment message uses Message
Format Service to send a formatted screen with a SYSMSG field, only one
segment is sent at a time. Press PA1 to retrieve the remaining segments.

Master Terminal Operator Response: See message DFS554A, which always
follows this error message at the IMS master terminal. See message DFS550I
which might precede this message at the IMS master terminal.

Problem Determination: 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 18, 19

Module: DFSFXC40

*****************************************************************************

academyindia4

Topic deleted by Admin

Post by academyindia4 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:25 pm

<< Content deleted By Admin >>

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others