Page 1 of 1

RESTART - Executing 2 and 3 rd step in 5 step jcl

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:20 pm
by ibmlearner
HI ALL

SAY I HAV 5 STEPS,

//--------JOB CARD --------RESTART=STEP2
//STEP1------
//STEP2------
//STEP3------
//STEP4------
//STEP5------

IM RESTARTING THE JOB FROM THE 2 ND STEP,

MY REQ IS ONLY STEP2 AND STEP3 TO BE EXECUTED ??????


LET ME KNOW APART FROM NULL (//) ANY OTHER WAYS R THERE ??????

JCL - JOB STEPS

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:39 pm
by muraligaru1
Use COND parameter, to not to execute these step.



Regards,
Murali

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:41 am
by guptae
Hi There,

U can also use IEBEDIT for this

Code: Select all

//STEP1    EXEC PGM=IEBEDIT                       
//SYSUT1   DD DSN=dataset that contain jcl,DISP=SHR 
//SYSUT2   DD SYSOUT=(*,INTRDR)                   
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                            
//SYSIN    DD *                                   
  EDIT TYPE=INCLUDE,STEPNAME=(STEP2,STEP3)        
/*    

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:28 am
by Ajay Baghel
Hi,

Tried executing steps in a random order. Like input jcl dataset has steps Step1, step2, step3 in that order.
But on giving

EDIT TYPE=INCLUDE,STEPNAME=(STEP2,STEP1)

Still it executes the step1 before step2.

Is it not the correct order?

Thanks,
Ajay

Re: RESTART - Executing 2 and 3 rd step in 5 step jcl

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:33 am
by acevedo
ibmlearner wrote: IM RESTARTING THE JOB FROM THE 2 ND STEP,

MY REQ IS ONLY STEP2 AND STEP3 TO BE EXECUTED ??????


LET ME KNOW APART FROM NULL (//) ANY OTHER WAYS R THERE ??????
In my opinion the best way is // or just delete the steps you don't want to execute... the second option, as said before, is 'playing' with COND.

Code: Select all

//???????? JOB MSGCLASS=X,REGION=8M,NOTIFY=&SYSUID,            
//          RESTART=STEP20                                     
//STEP10    EXEC  PGM=IEFBR14                                  
//STEP20    EXEC  PGM=IEFBR14                                  
//STEP30    EXEC  PGM=IEFBR14                                  
//STEP40    EXEC  PGM=IEFBR14,COND=((0,NE),(0,EQ))             
//STEP50    EXEC  PGM=IEFBR14,COND=((0,NE),(0,EQ))             

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:55 pm
by innocent
what i understand from your query is ..there are 5 step and you need to nullify , some steps in tht proc ..if that is your query then try this

// proc exc proc1 , parameter.stepname=value
parameter =condition
step name = requried step which you would like to nullify

All parameters on an EXEC stmt in the proc such as COND, PARM have to be overridden like this!!

Pls...Let me know is this work for you ...Thanks

Inoccent:)

Topic deleted by Admin

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 8:21 pm
by academyindia4
<< Content deleted By Admin >>

Topic deleted by Admin

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:53 pm
by academyindia4
<< Content deleted By Admin >>