Page 1 of 1

Override from JCL

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 9:32 am
by Sheela
Hi,

There is a proc which runs another proc, I need to override a particular
COND parameter in second proc. Please let me know how we can do this.

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:19 am
by Veera
Try this

PROC1.STEPNAMEA.STEPNAMEB

STEPNAMEA -> Is the step name where another proc is called
STEPNAMEB -> Is the step name of the second proc for which
you want to override the parameter.
and then give the step with what ever cond u want to
override with.

Thanks,
Veera.

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:22 am
by Veera
Try This , sorry i missed some info in my earlier post :)

Code: Select all


//STEP001 EXEC PROCNAME,COND.STEPNAME=VALUE

COND.STEPNAME=VALUE -> This is the syntax for overriding the 
COND values normally.

So COND.STEPNAME = VALUE 

How we give STEPNAME is what we have to figure out since a proc is being called from another proc.

STEPNAME = PROC1.STEPNAMEA.STEPNAMEB

STEPNAMEA -> Is the step name where another proc is called 
STEPNAMEB -> Is the step name of the second proc for which 
                      you want to override the parameter.

Or some varaition of STEPNAMEA and STEPNAMEB should work.

Thanks,
Veera

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:59 am
by Sheela
Hi Veera,

Thanks for the information. I will try with this.

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:40 pm
by Ajay Baghel
overriding of statements can be done upto one level only ie you cannot modify the statements in nested proc.

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:49 pm
by Veera
Ajay,

Well thanks for the info ,

But if we give the statement /override

//STEP001 EXEC PROCNAME,COND.STEPNAME=VALUE

exactly at the call to PROCB from PROCA it should work i guess.

I mean where ever second proc is being called from first proc at that step.

Sheela if you tried some means and got the solution , do plz update us on it.

Code: Select all


As per the statement :

Modifying or additional JCL statements apply to one level of nesting only. You can use statements to modify statements in a procedure only for the level of nesting at which the EXEC statement for that procedure appears. 

So when we give the override after where the second proc is being called it should go fine.

Thanks,
Veera

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:30 am
by DavidatK
Sheela,

Check out the link below to see if it help.

Examples of Modifying Nested Procedures

Dave

Topic deleted by Admin

Posted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:05 pm
by academyindia4
<< Content deleted By Admin >>