Page 1 of 1

JCL syntax check

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:06 pm
by sonakasi
Hi All,

Interview question in Attra, How do you check the syntax of JCL without submitting the job.

Ans : TYPERUN = SCAN

Please clarify.

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:49 pm
by DikDude
What is there to clarify?

Place

Code: Select all

//         TYPRUN=SCAN, 
in the JOB statement and look at the informational messages generated.

Note the misspelling in the original post. . .

Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:12 pm
by sonakasi
Thank you very much...but is there some command called 'JSCAN' to perform the same ???
I have answer to the interviewer as 'TYPRUN=SCAN'

Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:30 pm
by dbzTHEdinosauer
the typrun=scan only works when a job is submitted.
otherwise, you need a third party product, like jscan,
to perform JCL syntax checking without SUBMITting the job.

Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:10 pm
by sonakasi
Thank you very much :D