How to skip a step

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on JCL, OS/390 JCL, MVS JCL, z/OS JCL, JES2 & JES3

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, DikDude, Moderator Group

Post Reply
Pavan Kumar
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:58 pm
Location: Hyderabad

How to skip a step

Post by Pavan Kumar » Thu Jul 29, 2010 4:20 pm

Hi All,
I have a JCL . In that I have 3 steps. I don't have authority to modify the JCL. But what my requirement is I need to skip the 2nd step.

It would be great if you provide me a earlier responce.

Thank you.

MrSpock
Active Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:37 pm

Post by MrSpock » Thu Jul 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Try passing it through IEBEDIT.

Pavan Kumar
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:58 pm
Location: Hyderabad

Post by Pavan Kumar » Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:16 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your earlier reply.

Could u elaborate the answer with the example code

Pavan Kumar
Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:58 pm
Location: Hyderabad

Post by Pavan Kumar » Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:20 pm

One more thing MrSpock,

I dont have any authority to modify/edit the jcl but i need to run the job and skip the 2nd step.

MrSpock
Active Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:37 pm

Post by MrSpock » Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:18 pm

It's documented in the examples in that link I posted. Anyway:

Code: Select all

//EDITSTEP EXEC PGM=IEBEDIT                                             
//SYSUT1   DD   DSN=... (dataset containing your job)
//SYSUT2   DD   ... (dataset containing your required output)
//SYSPRINT DD   SYSOUT=*                                                
//SYSIN    DD   *                                                       
 EDIT START=JOBNAME,TYPE=EXCLUDE,STEPNAME=(STEP2)                      
/*                                                                      
//                                                                      
where SYSUT1 is a sequential input dataset, SYSUT2 is a sequential output dataset, SYSPRINT is an output sequential dataset for messages, and SYSIN is an input control dataset.

User avatar
dbzTHEdinosauer
Moderator
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:31 pm

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:18 pm

SYSUT2 could also be (*,INTRDR)
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others