how to load data from vsam to db2 table

Ask question on - DataBase Concepts, IBM Mainframe DB2, DB2/UDB, DB2 Tools, SQL , DB2 programming with languages like COBOL, PL1.

Moderators: Kalicharan, Moderator Group

Post Reply
puja_main
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:29 pm

how to load data from vsam to db2 table

Post by puja_main » Wed May 16, 2012 12:36 pm

hi there,


how to load data from vsam file to db2 table using load utilty.

plz give me example

User avatar
dbzTHEdinosauer
Moderator
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:31 pm

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Wed May 16, 2012 12:55 pm

first check with your site support group.
they will beable to tell you what utilities are available,
and which you can use.

after you know what utility you are going to use,
then read the manual.
if you have questions at that point,
the tell us what you have done, what does not work, and what you do not understand.

mainframe world is much different than pc world.
each site is different.
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

Anuj Dhawan
Moderator
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:02 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Wed May 16, 2012 7:42 pm

And, are VSAM and DB2 are totally "similar" in structure? As you put such a direct question.
Regards,
Anuj

puja_main
Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:29 pm

Post by puja_main » Wed May 16, 2012 9:23 pm

yes db2 table structure is same as vsam file(same data type and length)
Anuj Dhawan wrote:And, are VSAM and DB2 are totally "similar" in structure? As you put such a direct question.

DikDude
Moderator
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:39 am
Location: usa

Post by DikDude » Thu May 17, 2012 8:49 am

Is there still a question?
first check with your site support group.
they will beable to tell you what utilities are available,
and which you can use.

If you get stuck, post something more specific. The DB2 documentation has samples of using the IBM's tools.
Have a good one

hash33
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:55 am

cobol program

Post by hash33 » Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:37 am

Declare a variable in your cobol program like that
01 ws-x-amount pic 9(7)v99 comp-3.
and
move your vsam file field data to the above field
and then set the above mention field into the db2 table. It will be
work.
Last edited by hash33 on Sun Jul 22, 2012 12:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

NicC
Active Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: Down on the pig farm

Post by NicC » Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:41 am

hash33 - answer the question not sprout something which is not related to it.
Regards
Nic

DikDude
Moderator
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:39 am
Location: usa

Post by DikDude » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:18 pm

Declare a variable in your cobol program like that
01 ws-x-amount pic 9(7)v99 comp-3.
How does this relate to loading a table from external data?

It is admirable to want to help, but the help must be for the question asked :wink:
Have a good one

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others