Override a STEP in JCL that is not in PROC of JCL

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on JCL, OS/390 JCL, MVS JCL, z/OS JCL, JES2 & JES3

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, DikDude, Moderator Group

Post Reply
narinder4075
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: Kolkata

Override a STEP in JCL that is not in PROC of JCL

Post by narinder4075 » Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:36 pm

In a JCL, there is a STEP as below:

//STEP010 EXEC PROC1
//STEP040.DELETE02 DD DUMMY
//STEP040.DELETE01 DD DISP=(MOD,DELETE,DELETE),SPACE=(TRK,(1,1)),
// DSN=<Dataset_name1>
//STEP050.DELETE01 DD DISP=(MOD,DELETE,DELETE),SPACE=(TRK,(1,1)),
// DSN=<Dataset_name2>
//*

and STEP040 of PROC1 is like below:

//*********************************************************************
//* STEP040 : DELETE THE DATASET IF THERE IS AN ERROR IN PREVIOUS STEP
//*********************************************************************
//DELIT IF STEP030.RC GT 0 THEN
//STEP040 EXEC PGM=IEFBR14
//DELETE01 DD DSN=<Dataset_name3>,
// DISP=(MOD,DELETE,DELETE),SPACE=(TRK,(1,1))
//DELETE03 DD DSN=<Dataset_name4>,
// DISP=(MOD,DELETE,DELETE),SPACE=(TRK,(1,1))
//DELED ENDIF
//*

Can anybody tell me what is the use of //STEP040.DELETE02 DD DUMMY in JCL as there is no DELETE02 in STEP040 of PROC1??
Thanks,
Narinder.

Anuj Dhawan
Moderator
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:02 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:52 pm

With the information in hand, it seems coding //STEP040.DELETE02 is just useless.
Regards,
Anuj

Narendra.nareddy
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:45 pm

JCL

Post by Narendra.nareddy » Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:23 am

Hi,

For the JCL when we do !JCK, it will show that //STEP040.DELETE02 is not there in STEP040.


Thanks
Narendra

Anuj Dhawan
Moderator
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:02 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: JCL

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:09 pm

Narendra.nareddy wrote:For the JCL when we do !JCK,
Syntax-check tools will vary shop to shop and not necessary every toll will show up this message.
it will show that //STEP040.DELETE02 is not there in STEP040.
Regards,
Anuj

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others