Home      Mainframe Forum      Mainfarme Tutorials      IBM Manuals      Mainframe Interview Questions      Mainframe Books      IT News     SiteMap     Downloads


     
 
MAINFRAME - TIP OF THE DAY : All available storage is assigned to the job or jobstep, If REGION is coded 0K or 0M

Google
 
Web mainframegurukul.com

pls give me the answers for the following interview quesions
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    mainframegurukul.com Forum Index -> INTERVIEW QUESTIONS
  View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
abcdef1234
Member


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 6

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:06 pm    Post subject: pls give me the answers for the following interview quesions Reply with quote

Hi can u pls give answers for the follwing questions...


1) My JOB contain 5 steps & I want to bypass first 2 steps. How U can do?


2) Already I created one new GDG version in step 3 & I need use same GDG in to step 8. Which version number U can use & what is the DISP parameters?

3) Through SYSIN DD * I'm going to passing some values to the program. That value we are declared in to COM-3 field & that program going to ACCEPT that COMP-3 value. During arithmetic operation B=A+1 (A value is COMP-3). What is the result for this query?

4) I've one INSTREM Proc in step 3 & In step 7 I'm going to call that Proc, its possible to call or not?

5) What is Concatenation dataset? I've 3 concatenation datasets & I want to overwrite 2nd dataset? How U can do & what is the syntax?

6) How many types to sort? In JCL I want to sort one file & how U can write the sort syntax?

7) I'm sorting one file, that file I'm not given any ASC or DESC order. Which one is default value its going to taking? Tell me.

8 ) Sort file I'm given Input & Output are same PDS. During input I was given DISP=(New, ,) & same file I'm give to output DIPS=SHR. Pls tell me this JCL going to successfully running or its going to abend?

9) What is SOC abends? How U are going to solve?

10) When u are get SOC4 & SOC7 abend? How to solve this errors?

11) During run time my load module was not found. What type of error u are getting? How u are going to solve?

12) During run time I'm not defined the load module to the JCL. What type of error U are getting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.

DavidatK
Active Member


Joined: 27 Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Location: Troy, MI USA

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

abcdef1234,

same comments as your COBOL II Questions.

Link to z/OS V1R6.0 MVS JCL Reference

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
giri
Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 8

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've one INSTREM Proc in step 3 & In step 7 I'm going to call that Proc, its possible to call or not?


ys u can call by specifying proc name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
giri
Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 8

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorting one file, that file I'm not given any ASC or DESC order. Which one is default value its going to taking? Tell me.


its by default ascending
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
giri
Member


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 8

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sort file I'm given Input & Output are same PDS. During input I was given DISP=(New, ,) & same file I'm give to output DIPS=SHR. Pls tell me this JCL going to successfully running or its going to abend?

a) no, u cant use because at first when u r opening the PDS it will be in read lock and u cant open it for write with out closing it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
varun
Member


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 5

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
1 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
1 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me try some of these:

1) My JOB contain 5 steps & I want to bypass first 2 steps. How U can do?
On the jobcard, specify an additional parm RESTART=<step name of 3rd step>

2) Already I created one new GDG version in step 3 & I need use same GDG in to step 8. Which version number U can use & what is the DISP parameters?

Not sure, but I guess BASE(0) with DISP=SHR, OLD or MOD depending upon the program.

4) I've one INSTREM Proc in step 3 & In step 7 I'm going to call that Proc, its possible to call or not?

Yes

5) What is Concatenation dataset? I've 3 concatenation datasets & I want to overwrite 2nd dataset? How U can do & what is the syntax?

Concatenation of datasets is like assigning a single DDNAME to a list of datasets like :

//INDD DD DISP=SHR,DSN=input.data1
// DD DISP=SHR,DSN=input.data2
// DD DISP=SHR,DSN=input.data3

I did not completely understand the override part. From my understanding, you will need to code :

//STEPNAME.INDD DD DISP=SHR,DSN=input.data1
// DD DISP=SHR,DSN=newinput.data2
// DD DISP=SHR,DSN=input.data3


8 ) Sort file I'm given Input & Output are same PDS. During input I was given DISP=(New, ,) & same file I'm give to output DIPS=SHR. Pls tell me this JCL going to successfully running or its going to abend?

I dont think so. Input dataset should exist already. Can't be DISP=NEW

11) During run time my load module was not found. What type of error u are getting? How u are going to solve?

for module not found, the abend code is 806. To correct :

1) We can add a STEPLIB
2) We can add a JOBLIB
3) Copy the module to system linklist

12) During run time I'm not defined the load module to the JCL. What type of error U are getting?

Looks like the same question as the one above to me.

HTH,
Varun
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
chintu
Member


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 9

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:30 pm    Post subject: SOC4 Reply with quote

Hi
We get a SOC4 error when
(1)Index exceeds the size of the table.
(2)When we use the file-section variables with out opening the file.

we get a SOC7 error when
(1)Moving the non-numeric value to a numeric value.
(2)Not initializing the numeric variables before the first use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
chintu
Member


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 9

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:37 pm    Post subject: Sort Reply with quote

Hi,
We have SORT, DFSORT, SYNCSORT.
All the sorts more or less do the same work.
DFSORT is IBMS tool
SYNCSORT is competing it.
The syntax of SORT is
Normally we give the input and the output files in the ddnames
SORTIN and SORTOUT.
and we also give the work files with some space allocated to them
and a SYSIN DD * statement to give the SORT fields.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
tvsraj
Member


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 1

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
1 salutes

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Q) What is Concatenation dataset? I've 3 concatenation datasets & I want to overwrite 2nd dataset? How U can do & what is the syntax?

A) If u need to override the 2nd dataset in the concatenation datasets. You need to observe the below example.

eg:
The Concatenated Datasets are in the proc PROCA as follows

//Step1 Exec PGM=ABC
.....
//DD1 DD DSN=DOUBT.ABC.DSN1
// DD DSN=DOUBT.ABC.DSN2
// DD DSN=DOUBT.ABC.DSN3

If you need to use the PRoc PROCA in the JCL by using the DSN4 instead of DSN2 file..follow the below manner.

//PROC1 EXEC PROCA
//Step1.DD1 DD
// DD DSN=DOUBT.ABC.DSN4
// DD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Anuj Dhawan
Moderator


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 1631
Location: Mumbai, India

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi tvsraj,

The answer to the question is correct -- just for the note, you answered an year old post. Usually, I enjoy the Forum by putting up your answers in rather new threads... Smile

have a nice stay here...
_________________
Regards,
Anuj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
phanindra
Member


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 6

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

SOC7 may comes when u are trying to perform some arithmetic operations on alphanumeric data...........its upto my knowledge............
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
helianthusdd
Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:25 pm    Post subject: Re: pls give me the answers for the following interview ques Reply with quote

abcdef1234 wrote:
Hi can u pls give answers for the follwing questions...


1) My JOB contain 5 steps & I want to bypass first 2 steps. How U can do?


2) Already I created one new GDG version in step 3 & I need use same GDG in to step 8. Which version number U can use & what is the DISP parameters?

3) Through SYSIN DD * I'm going to passing some values to the program. That value we are declared in to COM-3 field & that program going to ACCEPT that COMP-3 value. During arithmetic operation B=A+1 (A value is COMP-3). What is the result for this query?

4) I've one INSTREM Proc in step 3 & In step 7 I'm going to call that Proc, its possible to call or not?

5) What is Concatenation dataset? I've 3 concatenation datasets & I want to overwrite 2nd dataset? How U can do & what is the syntax?

6) How many types to sort? In JCL I want to sort one file & how U can write the sort syntax?

7) I'm sorting one file, that file I'm not given any ASC or DESC order. Which one is default value its going to taking? Tell me.

8 ) Sort file I'm given Input & Output are same PDS. During input I was given DISP=(New, ,) & same file I'm give to output DIPS=SHR. Pls tell me this JCL going to successfully running or its going to abend?

9) What is SOC abends? How U are going to solve?

10) When u are get SOC4 & SOC7 abend? How to solve this errors?

11) During run time my load module was not found. What type of error u are getting? How u are going to solve?

12) During run time I'm not defined the load module to the JCL. What type of error U are getting?


I guess you use Google to have answers or suggestions. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
DikDude
Moderator


Joined: 22 Jul 2011
Posts: 1001
Location: usa

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I guess you use Google to have answers or suggestions.
Did you actually try to do this? Keep in mind that when searching you are not allowed to use what you already know . . . It is easy to search for things when one already knows the answer.

Also, it is better to reply to currently active topics rather than a quote that was posted 4 years ago.
_________________
Have a good one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
helianthusdd
Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2011
Posts: 3

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DikDude wrote:
Quote:

I guess you use Google to have answers or suggestions.
Did you actually try to do this? Keep in mind that when searching you are not allowed to use what you already know . . . It is easy to search for things when one already knows the answer.

Also, it is better to reply to currently active topics rather than a quote that was posted 4 years ago.


I found the result matching. You can refer suggestions list here http://typicalinterviewquestions))>. I hope this helps you.
Best rgs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
seleniumtraining
Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Location: Chennai

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hii all...Thanks for sharing this interview questions and answers..This is really useful for me.
_________________
http://www.besanttechnologies.com/training-courses/software-testing-training/selenium-training-institute-in-chennai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    mainframegurukul.com Forum Index -> INTERVIEW QUESTIONS All times are GMT + 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2



 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Two outputs created as a result of generation of a map 5 Krishna 7542 Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:39 am
academyindia4 View latest post
No new posts List of datasets created before the date specified 3 phaniyelugula 2490 Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:41 pm
DikDude View latest post
No new posts List of datasets created before the date specified 2 phaniyelugula 2140 Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:18 pm
NicC View latest post
No new posts how to use a file created by EZACFSM1 in the following steps 4 mail4ujyoti 4492 Fri Aug 10, 2012 9:38 am
Anuj Dhawan View latest post
No new posts Many JCL statements contain specific values designed to dire 1 Krishna 4873 Tue May 12, 2009 5:39 pm
Krishna View latest post
 


Cobol Tutorial
This cobol tutorial covers most of the important topics like STRING, UNSTRING, COMP, COMP-3.....
DB2 Tutorial
DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming. Explains in simple language. Some Chapters are locked, Forum members have free access to these chapters
CICS Tutorial
This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming...
JCL Tutorial
This is most popular JCL tutorial from mainframegurukul. It does contain important jcl ....
SORT Tutorial
This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT. Has more SORT examples
INTERVIEW Questions
This page covers important interview questions
Mainframe Jobs
Mainframe Jobs posted by members of mainframegurukul forum
FaceBook Page
MainframeGurukul FaceBook Page
LinkedIn Page
MainframeGurkul Linkedin Page

This widget requires Flash Player 9 or better







Go to top of the page
 

Online ABEND Reference ||  JCL References ||  COBOL References ||  VSAM References ||  Tutorials by Drona Series ||  SQL tutorial ||  BOOKS  ||  DB2 INTERVIEW QUESTIONS ||  COBOL INTERVIEW QUESTIONS  ||  JCL INTERVIEW QUESTIONS ||  JCL2 INTERVIEW QUESTIONS ||  VSAM INTERVIEW QUESTIONS ||  CICS INTERVIEW QUESTIONS  ||  Online tutorials ||  Online ABEND Reference ||  JCL References ||  COBOL References ||  VSAM References ||  Tutorials by Drona Series ||  SQL tutorial ||  BOOKS  ||  SiteMap  ||  Expeditor Tutorial  ||  FILE-AID Tutorial  ||  Changeman Tutorial  ||  COBOL   ||  DB2   ||  JCL  ||  CICS  ||  VSAM  ||  DB2 Interview Questions ( 110 )   || Simple JCL Tutorials  || JCL Tutorial from MainframeGurukul.com   || Simple JCL Tutorial - Chapter1 ;|| Mainframe Forum - Tutorials  || Mainframe Tutorials || Mainframe CICS tutorial|| Mainframe COBOL Tutorial

Drona Educational Forums - Mainframe Cobol DB2 CICS Board
Powered by phpBB

mainframetopic-2631.html