temporary dataset

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on JCL, OS/390 JCL, MVS JCL, z/OS JCL, JES2 & JES3

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, DikDude, Moderator Group

Post Reply
pankaj.kr.pal
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:32 am

temporary dataset

Post by pankaj.kr.pal » Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:22 pm

can anyone let me know when to use temporary dataset with an example,
how a temporary dataset is created and in what situations its necessary?

User avatar
dbzTHEdinosauer
Moderator
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:31 pm

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:55 pm

temp datasets are denoted with &&dsn . keep your dataset name to 7 char, no reason, just easier to keep track of them.

temp datasets are used when you know that the file will not be used outside the job, saves cateloging and deleting.
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

vanithaaraju
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 4:51 pm

Post by vanithaaraju » Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:42 pm

Hi pankaj,

The syntax to create temporary file looks like this

//ddname dd dsn=&&dsn,disp=(status,normal-disposition,abnormal-disposition)

refer to the link below it will be useful

www.geocities.com/srcsinc/drona/program ... pter6.html
vanithaa

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others