How to resolve soc7?

This is a Mainframe COBOL forum - you can post your queries on Mainframe COBOL, VS COBOL II, COBOL/370 , Enterprise COBOL

Moderators: dbzTHEdinosauer, Moderator Group

Lohith

How to resolve soc7?

Post by Lohith » Thu Nov 06, 2008 6:41 pm

Hi frnds,
I'm new to mainframe technology. I want to know the step by step method to resolve soc7 abend without using any tools(abend tools).
please guide me.

thanks,
lohit

dbzTHEdinosauer

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:55 pm

start by looking at a cobol/asm/pl1 application programmers guide under the subject of debuging. not only will some things be explained, but links to other manuals will be given; the other manuals will go into depth about debugging.

You could also google, looking for 'how to resolve soc7'.
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

Lohith

Post by Lohith » Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:41 am

thanks.............

Natarajan

SOC7 abend in COBOL S0C7

Post by Natarajan » Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:12 pm

Lohith,

here is some info which i have.

If you get S0C7 means some of your numeric variables/data items have invalid data. now we need to find out how to do this.

while compiling use compiler option LIST. it will give listing of your cobol program in spool.

Now, run your program, it will abend will with S0C7
go to spool and take the last four bytes of offset.

open the compiler listing and find those 4 bytes in the compiler listing.
you can find the position, where S0C7 occured.

In this way , we can find the position where S0C7 error got generated.

If you need any other help, let us know.
Last edited by Natarajan on Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Natarajan
Chennai

Lohith

Post by Lohith » Wed Nov 12, 2008 1:50 pm

natarajan,
i got the offset address, but i could not find in which line it is showing abend.

Natarajan

SOC07 ABEND in COBOL program

Post by Natarajan » Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:38 pm