Home      Mainframe Forum      Mainfarme Tutorials      IBM Manuals      Mainframe Interview Questions      Mainframe Books      IT News     SiteMap     Downloads


     
 
MAINFRAME - TIP OF THE DAY : All available storage is assigned to the job or jobstep, If REGION is coded 0K or 0M

Google
 
Web mainframegurukul.com

sysout to a file

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    mainframegurukul.com Forum Index -> COBOL
  View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sash
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:30 am    Post subject: sysout to a file Reply with quote

actually data is being displayed in the sysout....i want dis data to be moved into a sequential file how do i do it?? pls help me with a sample code?..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.

Natarajan
Moderator


Joined: 10 Oct 2008
Posts: 537
Location: chennai

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Sash,

Welcome to mainframegurukul.com

Answer to your question.
Change the SYSOUT statement in JCL.

Your existing code may look like as follows
Code:
//SYSOUT    DD SYSOUT=* 


Change this to code similar to below.
Code:

//SYSOUT DD DSN=DEV.FILENAME3,
//           DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE),                     
//           SPACE=(CYL,(10,10,0),RLSE),               
//           DCB=(RECFM=FB)                           


All data will be written to DEV.FILENAME3 file.
_________________
Natarajan
Chennai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Natarajan
Moderator


Joined: 10 Oct 2008
Posts: 537
Location: chennai

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want transfer sysout data to another file, after job execution, manually.

use XDC line command, in the spool. it will transfer all spool details including
SYSOUT to specified sequential file.
_________________
Natarajan
Chennai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
sash
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:36 am    Post subject: sysout to a file Reply with quote

i do not want to transfer de entire data but only a part of de sysout..den wat should i do??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Natarajan
Moderator


Joined: 10 Oct 2008
Posts: 537
Location: chennai

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Sash,

i think of only above two solutions.

1. change your jcl... so that data will be directly written to sequential file
2. transfer full spool data to sequential file manually - look like this option. not suitable for your requirement.

i would suggest you to change jcl as i have explained in my first post of this topic.

gothru following JCL link... if you need any help coding JCL.
http://www.geocities.com/srcsinc/drona/programming/languages/jcl/jcl.html
_________________
Natarajan
Chennai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Anuj Dhawan
Moderator


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 1631
Location: Mumbai, India

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi sash,

What Spool Display Tool do you use ? Usually You get differnet DD name in spool irrespective of the tool being used, issue XDC in front of the DD name you want to "capture" in some DSN, then it wont fetch other spool details.
_________________
Regards,
Anuj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Anuj Dhawan
Moderator


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 1631
Location: Mumbai, India

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi sash,

What Spool Display Tool do you use ? Usually You get differnet DD name in spool irrespective of the tool being used, issue XDC in front of the DD name you want to "capture" in some DSN, then it wont fetch other spool details.
_________________
Regards,
Anuj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
sash
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello anuj,
lemme explainit clearly again...in the sysout der is numerous data displayed for a particular program..in that i want to take a part of the data alone moved to a sequential file...pls help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Anuj Dhawan
Moderator


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 1631
Location: Mumbai, India

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

This is SDSF spool which I use at my shop, when I put "?" in front of the JOB name XXXXA1 & hit enter, I got the below screen.
Code:
Display  Filter  View  Print  Options  Help                                 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SDSF JOB DATA SET DISPLAY - JOB XXXXA1 (JOB64300)    LINE 1-4 (4)           
COMMAND INPUT ===> __________________________________________ SCROLL ===> CSR 
PREFIX=XXXXA1  DEST=(ALL)  OWNER=*  SYSNAME=                                 
NP   DDNAME   STEPNAME PROCSTEP DSID C FORM   FCB   TOT REC RMT WTRNAME       
     JESMSGLG JES2                 2 R STD   ****        32                   
     JESJCL   JES2     IEFPROC     3 R STD   ****        12                   
     JESYSMSG JES2     IEFPROC     4 R STD   ****        46                   
XDC  OUTDD    SEARCH             102 A STD   ****        57

Now if I want OUTDD to be in seprate DSN, I write "XDC" in front of it & hit enter then I'm prompted to enter the DSN name where I want the Data.
_________________
Regards,
Anuj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
sash
Member


Joined: 26 Dec 2008
Posts: 8

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks anuj...i understood!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Anuj Dhawan
Moderator


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 1631
Location: Mumbai, India

Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great, glad to hear - hopefully it worked the way you needed. If you have any further queris, post us back - someone will be around.

Have a agood one,

-Ad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
academyindia4
Guest





Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 8:19 pm    Post subject: Topic deleted by Admin Reply with quote

<< Content deleted By Admin >>
Back to top
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
academyindia4
Guest





Answer was approved by Question owner.
Useful Post
0 votes
Not an useful post
Greate Post!! Salute Author
0 salutes

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:21 pm    Post subject: Topic deleted by Admin Reply with quote

<< Content deleted By Admin >>
Back to top
Click here, If this post answer your question. <-- Click on right mark icon. If this post answer your question.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    mainframegurukul.com Forum Index -> COBOL All times are GMT + 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1



 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Search Batch file-aid help 14 frenchman 31561 Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:23 pm
academyindia4 View latest post
No new posts File-Aid Help 3 Nicholas 21374 Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:22 pm
academyindia4 View latest post
No new posts Hi plz help me out 7 Guest 21197 Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:14 pm
academyindia4 View latest post
No new posts Need urgent HELP 4 Sulagna 12528 Mon Feb 01, 2016 1:39 am
academyindia4 View latest post
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. executing java program thru JCL 6 Guest 24809 Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:56 pm
Anuj Dhawan View latest post
 


Cobol Tutorial
This cobol tutorial covers most of the important topics like STRING, UNSTRING, COMP, COMP-3.....
DB2 Tutorial
DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming. Explains in simple language. Some Chapters are locked, Forum members have free access to these chapters
CICS Tutorial
This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming...
JCL Tutorial
This is most popular JCL tutorial from mainframegurukul. It does contain important jcl ....
SORT Tutorial
This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT. Has more SORT examples
INTERVIEW Questions
This page covers important interview questions
Mainframe Jobs
Mainframe Jobs posted by members of mainframegurukul forum
FaceBook Page
MainframeGurukul FaceBook Page
LinkedIn Page
MainframeGurkul Linkedin Page

This widget requires Flash Player 9 or better







Go to top of the page
 

Online ABEND Reference ||  JCL References ||  COBOL References ||  VSAM References ||  Tutorials by Drona Series ||  SQL tutorial ||  BOOKS  ||  DB2 INTERVIEW QUESTIONS ||  COBOL INTERVIEW QUESTIONS  ||  JCL INTERVIEW QUESTIONS ||  JCL2 INTERVIEW QUESTIONS ||  VSAM INTERVIEW QUESTIONS ||  CICS INTERVIEW QUESTIONS  ||  Online tutorials ||  Online ABEND Reference ||  JCL References ||  COBOL References ||  VSAM References ||  Tutorials by Drona Series ||  SQL tutorial ||  BOOKS  ||  SiteMap  ||  Expeditor Tutorial  ||  FILE-AID Tutorial  ||  Changeman Tutorial  ||  COBOL   ||  DB2   ||  JCL  ||  CICS  ||  VSAM  ||  DB2 Interview Questions ( 110 )   || Simple JCL Tutorials  || JCL Tutorial from MainframeGurukul.com   || Simple JCL Tutorial - Chapter1 ;|| Mainframe Forum - Tutorials  || Mainframe Tutorials || Mainframe CICS tutorial|| Mainframe COBOL Tutorial

Drona Educational Forums - Mainframe Cobol DB2 CICS Board
Powered by phpBB

mainframetopic-3685.html