Need Interview FAQ's for Assembler

Ask/Clarify the questions on ASSEMBLER language.

Moderator: Moderator Group

kumar_log@hotmail.com

Need Interview FAQ's for Assembler

Post by kumar_log@hotmail.com » Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:21 am

Dear Friends,

I have attended few interview's for Assembler.

I have been asked few queston only as

1. Difference between DS & DC
2. Types of Instruction
3. Different data types
4. Types of registers R1-R16
5. How to call subprogram
6. Move command.

As i'm kind of beginner in assembler and able to manage this kind of basic question, able to clear them. I have some hand on experience on Assembler code, but not much exposure.

I would like to know some good inteview questions with answer's.

Any basic books (links) to start up with coding Assembler.

Pls help me out.

Thanks in Advance.
Thanks and Regards,
L.Kumar

nareshv_99

Post by nareshv_99 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:48 pm

adding a few.. i had been asked to answer below ques..

1. how to move more than 256 chars to a filed ?
var1 dc cl5'abcde'
var2 dc cl5'12345abcde'
write a instruction so that comparison between var1 and var2 should be true

var1 dc cl5'abcde'
var2 dc cl5'12345abcde'
MVC var2,var2
what var2 will have ?
var1 ds cl5'abcde'
can i define the var1 with the above instruction

other than this they asked me how TR instruction works and difference between TR and TRT

please add if anyone had faced any Assembler interview ques
Thanks!

nareshv_99

Post by nareshv_99 » Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:54 pm

i found below links very very useful..
http://www.billqualls.com/
http://www.edwardbosworth.com/

book:
Assembler Language Programming: The IBM System/360 by
George Struble

very useful book for beginners.
enjoy maadi.. :D

Anuj Dhawan

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:33 pm

nareshv_99 - What's the benefit of posting in a thread which is around more than 3 years old?
Regards,
Anuj

nareshv_99

Post by nareshv_99 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:08 pm