how to deal with the below scenario using iebgener

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on JCL, OS/390 JCL, MVS JCL, z/OS JCL, JES2 & JES3

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, DikDude, Moderator Group

Post Reply
mainframes_6002
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:17 pm

how to deal with the below scenario using iebgener

Post by mainframes_6002 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:08 am

this is my jcl. i want to insert first record and second record of sysut1 into sysut2 of om2...when i submit job ,om2 created EMPTY( records are not iserted into om2) and giving maxx=12...

//XXXXX4A JOB (ACCTINFO),'COMMENT',NOTIFY=&SYSUID,
// CLASS=C,MSGCLASS=H,MSGLEVEL=(1,1)
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1 DD *
hai mainframes
welcome
/*
//SYSUT2 DD DSN=MATRB743.COBOL.OM2,DISP=(NEW,CATLG,CATLG)
// SPACE=(TRK,(5,5,1),RLSE),UNIT=SYSDA,
// DCB=(LRECL=80,BLKSIZE=800,RECFM=FB)
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
----------------------------------------
OUTPUT:

Command ===> _______________________________________________ Scroll ==> CSR_
********************************* Top of Data *********************************
STMT NO. MESSAGE


JCL SYNTAX CHECK COMPLETED WITH 0 ERROR(S) AND 0 WARNING(S)

IEF237I JES2 ALLOCATED TO SYSPRINT
IEF237I JES2 ALLOCATED TO SYSUT1
IGD101I SMS ALLOCATED TO DDNAME (SYSUT2 )
DSN (MATRB743.COBOL.OM2 )
STORCLAS (STORCL01) MGMTCLAS (MGMTCL01) DATACLAS (DATACL01)
VOL SER NOS= 339XXX
IEF237I JES2 ALLOCATED TO SYSIN
IEF142I MATRB74 STEP1 - STEP WAS EXECUTED - COND CODE 0012
IGD102I MATRB743.COBOL.OM2 CATALOGED, DDNAME=SYSUT2
IEF373I STEP/STEP1 /START 2011340.0944
IEF374I STEP/STEP1 /STOP 2011340.0944 CPU 0MIN 0.00SEC SRB 0MIN 0.00S
IEF375I JOB/MATRB74 /START 2011340.0944
IEF376I JOB/MATRB74 /STOP 2011340.0944 CPU 0MIN 0.00SEC SRB 0MIN 0.00S
***************************** Bottom of Data

**********************************

WAITING FOR THE MEMBERS VALUABLE ADVICES

DikDude
Moderator
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:39 am
Location: usa

Post by DikDude » Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:09 am

Read and use the solution you were given elsewhere. . .

Even this forum will run out of patience at some point if you continue posting the same thing over and over..
Have a good one

mainframes_6002
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:17 pm

Post by mainframes_6002 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:35 pm

i respect u very much and i post same thing because of not getting correct answer from the members
not for anything else........

MrSpock
Active Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:37 pm

Post by MrSpock » Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:23 pm

Try:

Code: Select all

//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER 
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=* 
//SYSUT1 DD * 
hai mainframes 
welcome 
/* 
//SYSUT2 DD DSN=MATRB743.COBOL.OM2,DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE),
// SPACE=(TRK,(5,5),RLSE),UNIT=SYSDA
//SYSIN DD DUMMY

mainframes_6002
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:17 pm

Post by mainframes_6002 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:08 pm

sorry Mrspock...its not workig
maxcc=12

mainframes_6002
Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:17 pm

Post by mainframes_6002 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:16 pm

DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE) --> NOT WORKING
DISP=(NEW,CATLG,CATLG) --> CREATES A EMPTY PS FILE (BUT WE NEED DATA)
DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE) ---> NOT WORKING

PLEASE LOOK INTO THE ABOVE CASES

MrSpock
Active Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:37 pm

Post by MrSpock » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:50 pm

mainframes_6002, the code I posted works for me on my local system, and realistically, is generic enough to work pretty much anywhere.

I get this content in my dataset:

Code: Select all

hai mainframes         
welcome                
SYSPRINT output:

Code: Select all

DATA SET UTILITY - GENERATE                                               
IEB352I WARNING: ONE OR MORE OF THE OUTPUT DCB PARMS COPIED FROM INPUT    
                                                                          
PROCESSING ENDED AT EOD                                                   

DikDude
Moderator
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:39 am
Location: usa

Post by DikDude » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:34 am

What were you told elsewhere that you have never done. . .

That would be to catalog the pds BEFORE trying to copy data into a member. This would be a 2-step job or a manual creation of the pds and a 1-step job to copy in the data to a member.

Do what has been suggested and post all of the output and we can see which direction(s) you have not followed.

The reason this drags on is because you do not appear to understand what people have explained. Unfortunately, there are many ways to do many things in our environment and until you learn some basics, you need to very carefully try what you have been suggested.

What you show you want is to create a member in a pds (unless i misunderstand), but your posted jcl has never been close. So, do this in 2 steps and get the data into the member. We can continue looking at alternative ways to do this if there you are still interested.
Have a good one

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others