Easytrieve Job Input statement query

Ask/Clarify the questions on EASYTRIEVE

Moderators: DikDude, Moderator Group

Pank.kumar

Easytrieve Job Input statement query

Post by Pank.kumar » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:28 pm

Hi All,

I am new to Easytrieve and have some issue in Easytrieve Job Input statement. I have a code as:

Code: Select all

JOB INPUT (A KEY(K1 K2) B KEY(K3 K4)) NAME A-JOB

IF A
   <statement1> 
   IF B
       <statement2> 
   ELSE
   END-IF
ELSE
   IF DUPLICATE B
        <statement3> 
   ELSE
       <statement4> 
   END-IF
END-IF
Can someone please explain to me in which cases statement 1, 2, 3 and 4 will be executed. As far as I know statement 2 gets executed when we have a match of records for file A and B, but not sure about others... Thanks in advance.
Pankaj

William Collins

Re: Easytrieve Job Input statement query

Post by William Collins » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:17 pm

If you use the matched file processing, you should use the special conditions which are available with it. Consult your documentation.

I'd not like to say what the code does, as I've never tried it like that.

What's with the "spare" ELSE?

Do you have duplicate key combinations on either file? I'm guessing yes, from the DUPLICATE, but if you have duplicates on both the above code will definitely get you in a mess.

DikDude

Post by DikDude » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:05 am

Suggest you make up some test data that represents the data patterns / combinations that might exist in the "real" input file and run the code.

Keep track of what happens in each case (no dup, dup, multi-dup, nomatch, etc) and post back here with the results and any questions that might arise.
Have a good one

Pank.kumar

Post by Pank.kumar » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:57 am