Max cc=0016 For sorting using jcl

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on JCL, OS/390 JCL, MVS JCL, z/OS JCL, JES2 & JES3

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, DikDude, Moderator Group

Post Reply
MAXZNM
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:59 pm

Max cc=0016 For sorting using jcl

Post by MAXZNM » Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:03 pm

Please help me to find out the solution.Please be polite.i am new student of mainframe.

following is the jcl.

000001 //NEWD9876 JOB 1,NOTIFY=NEWD9876
000002 //SORT01 EXEC PGM=SORT
000003 //SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
000004 //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
000005 //SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*
000006 //SORTIN DD DISP=SHR,DSN=NEWD9876.JCL(ASCII)
000007 //SORTOUT DD SYSOUT=*
000008 //SYSTSIN DD *
000009 SORT FIELDS=(1,1,CH,A)
000010 /*

William Collins
Active Member
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 4:07 am

Post by William Collins » Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:08 pm

Try starting "SORT FIELDS=" in a column after column one. To put it another way, put at least one space in front of every control card on your SYSIN.

NicC
Active Member
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 5:27 pm
Location: Down on the pig farm

Post by NicC » Thu Oct 04, 2012 3:15 pm

If you use the code tags in the editor it preserves spacing so that we can more easily analyse your code.
It also helps to provide the output from the program - that will provide the error messages.
As you have a sort problem you should have posted in the sort part of the forum.

Does your SORT FIELDS start in column 1? If so, read the manual. Sort control cards do NOT start in column 1 unless the value is a label.

If you want us to be polite then you should be polite and read the forum rules before posting and study the forum layout so tyhat you post in the correct section.
Regards
Nic

William Collins
Active Member
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 4:07 am

Re: Max cc=0016 For shorting using jcl

Post by William Collins » Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:53 pm

Code: Select all

//SYSTSIN  DD *                                      
I checked following Nic's suggestion. Your control card starts in a valid position but the above should be:

Code: Select all

//SYSIN  DD *                   


You probably have an error message in the sysout saying that SYSIN is missing.

MAXZNM
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:59 pm

Post by MAXZNM » Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:55 pm

Hello William Collins,
Thank you for your kind response.That works for me.


Thank again for a very polite and dynamic help.

William Collins
Active Member
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 4:07 am

Post by William Collins » Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:32 am

No problem.

If you actually want to do something with your example, you'll likely need to look at the sort key you have specified. You show 1,1, which is start position one for a length of one. This will get everything in sorted order on one byte only, the first, which is perhaps not what you want. Take the start of the field you want to sequence on, the length of the field, and whether you want the sort ascending (A) or descending (D).

Anuj Dhawan
Moderator
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:02 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:25 pm

Glad, you got it working however, for a SORT application (SynCSort and DFsort) - one does not need these DD statements: SYSPRINT and SYSUDUMP. You can remove them and execute the Job again.

Also, MAXZNM - is it you or some spammer - I'm not sure but why the word "works" comes as embedded hyperlink in your post?
Regards,
Anuj

DikDude
Moderator
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:39 am
Location: usa

Post by DikDude » Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:19 am

Hi Anuj,

It is not a link on my screen. Several of the help boards are now using the "mouse-over" links i would like to remove, but this post is not one of them

On my screen it is merely the word "works".
Have a good one

Anuj Dhawan
Moderator
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:02 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Post by Anuj Dhawan » Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:41 pm

Now, this looks good to me too. I checked in from different computer but similar browser (I.E.) that day, however, it looks good now.
Regards,
Anuj

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others