Ways to merge the parts of different rows in the single row.

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on DFSORT, ICETOOL , SyncSort & JCL Utilities

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, Moderator Group

ashank.agarwal@tcs.com

Ways to merge the parts of different rows in the single row.

Post by ashank.agarwal@tcs.com » Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:36 pm

Input
====
ABCD sdfsdf klsdfsdf
dfsdfs 12345 dfsdfdf
sdfsdf sdfsdf ******

BDCF dfsdffl dfsdfsdf
sdfsd 67893 dfgdfgd
asdas sdfsd $$$$$

Output
====
ABCD,12345,******
BDCF,67893,$$$$$

Hi All,

I am pretty new to DFsort and been working for just last week. I couldn't find the exact same query, have pasted the required results here.

This is ths sort card, but not giving the desired results

SORT FIELDS=(COPY)
OUTREC FIELDS=(1:5,35,38:30,13,55:35,17)

But i need to use this conditional outrec so that part from different rows is merged into songle row.

William Collins

Post by William Collins » Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:13 pm

OUTREC has no special power. It is the same as INREC (assuming DFSORT), but operates after SORT/MERGE. Without SORT/MERGE, use INREC.

FIELDS is old and overloaded. Use BUILD instead. BUILD is a synonym for FIELDS, so operation is 100% identical, but it is not overloaded: when you see BUILD on INREC, OUTREC and OUTFIL it is less confusing than seeing FIELDS, FIELDS and OUTREC, and also seeing FIELDS on SORT/MERGE, REFORMAT, SUM, etc.

Those are tips. They don't affect what you want.

Assuming that you can guarantee groups of three records (or four if that blank is really there), it is WHEN=GROUP that you want.

You'll need to temporarily add a sequence number to the record. When it is exactly divisible by three (or four) , WHEN=GROUP to identify that and PUSH the data you want from the first record at to an extension of the record, with RECORDS=3.

When it is divisible by three (or four) with remainder one, WHEN=GROUP to identify that and PUSH the data you want from the second record to a separate extension.