Removing a leading blank

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on DFSORT, ICETOOL , SyncSort & JCL Utilities

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, Moderator Group

Post Reply
Cainte
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:26 am

Removing a leading blank

Post by Cainte » Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:32 am

Hi everyone,

after a whole week of reading the Users guide, I still don't know how to handle my problem.

I have a huge dataset that has been converted by a tool I have no influence on.
The problem is a leading blank in each row which I have to remove.

I'm not that long into z/OS so I can't handle the Syntax of this.

Sorry...

Sincerely

Cainte

William Collins
Active Member
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 4:07 am

Post by William Collins » Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:22 pm

For fixed-length records, replace lrecl-1 by the result of that actual calculation, or define a symbol/SYMNAME with that value.

Code: Select all

  OPTION COPY
  INREC BUILD=(2,lrecl-1)
For variable-length records, you always need the RDW (so the 1,4, every time on a BUILD) and then the "6" says "from position six to the end of the current record".

Code: Select all

  OPTION COPY
  INREC BUILD=(1,4,6)

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others