JCL - INCLUDE Condition - SORT INCLUDE COND

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on JCL, OS/390 JCL, MVS JCL, z/OS JCL, JES2 & JES3

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, DikDude, Moderator Group

nbmurali307

JCL - INCLUDE Condition - SORT INCLUDE COND

Post by nbmurali307 » Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:29 am

I'm new to JCL programming. I have a clarification in JCL; again I don't know whether I could ask the question here, In JCL,

Question 1:
I have created a program to extract information from a set of dataset(s). I tried with 1 dataset with some condition and it gives me the output size of 10 megabytes and tried with 10 dataset(s) with the same condition in one JCL program and it gives me the output size of 10 megabytes. Is there a size limit for JCL output file. If yes, how could I increase from 10megabytes to 20megabytes? and what is maximum limit I could increase.

Question 2:
If I want to filter the records using a JCL include condition, how should I specify the condition for my specific need. Please refer the below example records.

e.g:

20060320 B6J8 PK E2156B 04 0PK74 0009 2
20060320 B6J8 PK E2156B 04 0PK74 0012 1
20060320 B6J8 PK E2156B 29 *I+ 0014 1
20060320 B6J8 PK E2156B 34 QC/+ 0016 1

In the above records column position 30,2 I want to filter the 2bytes from the position 30-31 and it should be alphabets or numeric (both 2 bytes should be alphabets or numeric)

Thanks in advance. Bala

Frank Yaeger

Post by Frank Yaeger » Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:23 pm

1. The size of the output data set depends on the space you allocated for it. For example, if you specify SPACE=(CYL,(5,5)), you'll get a primary of 5 cylinders and secondaries of 5 cylinders as needed. To increase the size of the output data set, increase the space you allocate for it.

2. You can use a DFSORT job like this to do what you want. I'm assuming by alpahabetic you mean 'A'-'Z' and by numeric you mean '0'-'9'.

Code: Select all

//S1    EXEC  PGM=ICEMAN
//SYSOUT    DD  SYSOUT=*