DB2 Count in JCL

In this Mainframe Forum - You can post your queries on JCL, OS/390 JCL, MVS JCL, z/OS JCL, JES2 & JES3

Moderators: Frank Yaeger, DikDude, Moderator Group

Post Reply
rtyagi1
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:34 pm

DB2 Count in JCL

Post by rtyagi1 » Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:37 pm

i'm trying to write a simple JCL. step one has a query that does a count. I want to check for that count value in my JCL. if the count is > x, i want to set a particular return code. THen, depending on what that return code is, i want to execute setp20. how can i get that done? How can i read my count value so that it can be used in my if statement. thanks!

User avatar
dbzTHEdinosauer
Moderator
Posts: 981
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 8:31 pm

Post by dbzTHEdinosauer » Tue Mar 24, 2009 6:39 pm

could use a sort product to interrogate the value and issue a return code,
which could be used in a COND parm on step 20 - or the IF.

it may be that you need 2 sort steps. one to read the code (include)
which would either output 1 record or none.

second sort step would input the output file of the first sort step,
and based on record count,
issue the appropriate returncode.
Dick Brenholtz
JCL, SQL and code in programs have an irritating habit of doing what you say,
not what you meant.

Post Reply

FREE TUTORIALS

Tutorials
Free tutorials from mainframegurukul
  • JCL Tutorial
    Covers all important JCL concepts.
  • Cobol Tutorial
    This tutorials covers all Cobol Topics from STRING to COMP-3.
  • DB2 Tutorial
    DB2 Tutorial focuses on DB2 COBOL Programming.
  • SORT Tutorial
    This Tutorial covers all important aspects of DFSORT with examples
  • CICS Tutorial
    This CICS tutorial covers CICS concepts and CICS Basics, CICS COBOL Programming.
Interview
Mainframe Interview questions



Other References
Mainframe Tools and others